Why am I calling my kids Lillie and Charlie?

Psalm 127:3-5

New International Version (NIV)

3 Children are a heritage from the Lord,
offspring a reward from him.
4 Like arrows in the hands of a warrior
are children born in one’s youth.
5 Blessed is the man
whose quiver is full of them.
They will not be put to shame
when they contend with their opponents in court.

Lillie and Charlie

I want to a talk about lots of things on here. Because our children make up such a large part of our lives and who I am at the moment I’m sure that a fair chunk of what I am going to say will be about them. Children really are the most amazing little beings, funny, cute, sweet, energetic but also challenging at the same time. They do things to me, and provoke emotions in me that I could never have predicted. I have never been so stretched in all areas of my life like I have since I became a mother, it’s becoming hard to remember what my comfort zone looks like.

I have been following a number of other bloggers for some time now and I have noticed that they seem to be fairly sensible in terms of protecting their kid’s security on-line. I want to be sensible too, I want to share my story but I don’t want to do it in a way that will embarrass them as they grow up.

This morning I talked to my daughter about my new project and explained what a blog is, I talked to her about telling our story but about guarding our privacy and safety. Its never too young to start a conversation with our kids about personal safety on-line, and this is something we have talked about with her before. It’s also never too soon to start having some guidelines about where, when and how much the internet can be used at home. I find it unbelievable that there are chat rooms marketed specifically at kids, this starts from the day they learn to read and write. My kids tell me that these chat rooms are safe places as they are only for children, this raises a massive red flag for me, and so for now chat rooms out out of bounds.

I asked her to choose a name she would like me to use for her, she picked Lillie. It’s interesting because that was one of the names on the short list before she was born. She wanted her brother to be called Harry, I suspect because of some cute boy from 1-direction rather than anyone in the British royal family, however to my surprise he piped in with “I’ll be Charlie”. So in the interests of fairness, we let him choose his own name too. I was quite proud of them that they chose such normal names, I wasn’t expecting that. Hopefully in the future when they are naming my Grandkids they will be as sensible.

So from now on in Blogland and on our cheerios milk and spoon facebook page my kids will be known henceforth as Lillie and Charlie. The names the kids have chosen are totally meaningless, unlike their names in real life which have deeply personal and specific meanings. If you are part of our lives in the real world and you know our kids names we would really appreciate it if you can please respect their privacy when commenting etc.

So let me introduce you to my little lovelies…

Lillie is 7, she loves shopping and moshi monsters and all things princess and girly. Charlie is 4 years old, he loves angry birds, lego, ninjas and all things Star Wars. Charlie is our selective eater, and along our journey to find answers as to why he struggles so much with food and how we can best help him he has been diagnosed with Autistic Spectrum Disorder and Sensory Processing Disorder.

We are blessed to have sociable, healthy children who get along well with each other most of the time. I hope you will enjoy getting to know them better.

Leave a Reply

