I’m going to cut the pumpkin…

Last night I was feeling fairly down about the amount of feeding therapy we have been, or rather haven’t been doing since the summer. We had made some progress during the holidays when we were seeing a friend once a week but since school started, the transition to the new routine and the end of the support we had has meant that we have all but stopped trying.

Charlie’s therapist messaged me, as part of the message she suggested a scooter board activity involving food. I cried – as you do!  As much as I knew she was right my heart sank, its hard to climb this mountain, some days it feels like its too hard.

But today is a new day…and a new chance to start again,

This morning Charlie was up bright and early, sometime around 5.30am, he got into our bed to snuggle as he does most days, by 6am I had given up any hope of ever getting back to sleep and so I decided to get up and go hunt for coffee. When we got downstairs I had the coffee first of course, and we played scooter board with plastic food. Because plastic food is easier than real food, It takes far less courage. Charlie made me some pretend coffee and we ate some plastic peas together.

When the game was finished he wandered into the conservatory and spotted the pumpkin I had bought yesterday.

Right out of the blue he said this…

“Mummy, I’m going to have the pumpkin and cut it and then I’m going to eat it!”

20131019-174021.jpg

20131019-173954.jpg  20131019-173923.jpg

with that he reached out and touched the pumpkin – this is not a small thing, any interaction with food is massive progress, I moved it closer to him and he hugged it.

Later on after swimming he worked with daddy to carve the pumpkin up, we gave him a butter knife and he helped daddy, hand over hand to cut the pumpkin into slices with daddy holding the sharp knife.

20131019-173907.jpg

20131019-173853.jpg

20131019-173839.jpg

This is my favourite…

20131019-173825.jpg

Later Daddy baked the pumpkin slices and the rest of us ate them,

Charlie didn’t and that’s ok, because from here from our new place, all interaction with food is progress and is a tiny little step on the road towards eating.
20131019-173813.jpg

20131019-173748.jpg

One thought on “I’m going to cut the pumpkin…

Leave a Reply

