I think they have got the point

Ok so after last week’s meeting with Charlie’s class teacher and classroom assistant when I wrote this

 “Even though in the meeting I asked for consistent, clear, accurate written communication around food the next day when I collected Charlie another classroom assistant announced that he had eaten Jelly (Jello) in class. I was shocked, “Jelly? I asked, “did he really eat jelly?” she said yes, so I pushed her further, “what colour/flavour/consistency/brand did he eat? How was it served? Was it in a bowl with a spoon?” “Oh” she replied, “he didn’t eat Jelly, he ate jellies, I mean sweeties like haribos”. He has eaten Jellies before, now Jelly is a whole different sensory experience, it is wet and wobbly and unpredictable, had he eaten Jelly I would have been pleased, no more like ecstatic, instead I just went away annoyed about the poor levels of communication”.

On monday of this week I had a far more successful meeting with the head of the school. My new parent advocate was with me, which was great as it means that I have a witness should anybody change their mind as to what was agreed.

The head is really positive about sensory integration, she did one of the Shine SPD training days in the spring and has made SI a priority area for staff development this year. She paid for Shine to come into school and train the whole staff on their last inset day. She was great and was really open to listening to what I had to say. I was very impressed with her.

I said that I understood that our priorities were different, I prioritised nurture, feeding and sensory whilst she was prioritising education, but she said that she understood that without my priorities being in place that Charlie wouldn’t be ready to learn anyway so she wanted to work with us to get that right first.

She agreed to all of my suggestions for how we could work together better from now on.

One of the things we discussed was my request for clear accurate, written communication around anything to do with food or feeding. She agreed and said that she would pass onto the classroom staff how important this is to us.

This evening I received this note in Charlie’s link book

“At 11.30am Charlie said he was ‘starving’ and he ate a full bowl of ASDA smart price crispy rice cereal. He ate all of his packed lunch and ate an ASDA Smart Price rich tea biscuit instead of decorating it with fireworks icing!”

asda

I think that they have got the point!

 

Leave a Reply

