The worst bit…

20140116-142853.jpg

Unfortunately our first adventure with funny blue bird has not been so much fun. Poor Charlie woke up yesterday morning with a high temperature and a cough and so was home sick from school making sure that the budgie doesn’t get too lonely on his first day.

I feel so sad for my little boy who is sick with a cough and a raised temperature but wont take any medicine to help and doesn’t complain about it either, just sits in the chair with big sad eyes.

Its hard to know how he is feeling because he doesn’t complain at all, he never ever tells you that he is feeling ill, and because of this sometimes I wonder if he has been ill and I could have missed it completely.

He wont take and medicine or health foods to strengthen his body or make him feel more comfortable. This is the part of selective eating / ASD that I hate more than any other. The part where he cannot be bribed or manipulated or forced to take the medicine, he is so stubborn and as soon as he sees it coming just clamps his mouth closed. Maybe it’s unfair to say that he is stubborn, I am sure that if he could choose not to fear new things and not to have such severe sensory issues around eating that he would much rather take the medicine and feel better for it.

He will sometimes eat sweet foods like gummies but he doesn’t see them as a treat or reward, he hasn’t eaten much at all today only some crackers and some tortilla chips.

This has happened before, the first time was terrifying, he must have been about 2 years old when his temperature went up to over 40 degrees, we called NHS direct and while the nurse there reassured us, they could only advise on ways to keep him cool. Thank God for Internet forums full of mum’s with children with similar difficulties who are able to give support and practical advice. One mum shared that she keeps a stock of Paracetamol suppositories in her house, just in case of emergency. From that day on so did we, and although we haven’t had to use them yet its reassuring to know that there is always a plan B.

Having been here before its less frightening, but it still makes my heart sad

Everyone’s experience of Autism is different, and I know that everyone has a different “worse bit”, for some families it’s supermarkets, unhelpful schools, meltdowns, IEP meetings, forms, doctors who don’t believe you, violent behaviour, bullying, sleepless nights, the list is endless…

For us it is this…

 

20140116-142906.jpg

4 thoughts on “The worst bit…

  1. Oh bless him. I hope he feels better soon. I agree this can be one of the hardest parts in all this. My son too does not eat/drink well when he is sick.
    Will he eat dry cheerios, nibble crackers, suck ice cubes???? Please forgive me if he doesn’t I know hard it is when they are sick and people give you well meaning advice that doesn’t work in your world…
    but I also know how tiring/stressful it can be.
    Gentle hugs and I hope everyone feels better soon.

  2. Can you send me an email? I was looking a bit more at your blog last night and found your post about diagnosis/letter? Forgive me if I am wrong but am I correct in thinking you got your ASD diagnosis based on eating issues?

Leave a Reply

