Finally, I have a food thief

20140317-112102.jpg

Yesterday the funniest thing happened, I was sitting down with a cup of coffee for 5 minutes and I decided to have a sneaky treat. I just love these yummy caramel waffles and have found that I can buy the in Aldi at less than half the price of some of the other places that sell them .

I was just tucking in to my moment of self indulgence when I heard Charlie’s little voice say “ooh, I would like to try some of that mummy!” When I got over the initial shock I handed him my treat, he took a really small nibble of the edge and declared that he liked it, and that he would be eating the rest of it.

So it was goodbye caramel waffle and hello food thief.

My husband remarked how it was just like having a one year old who suddenly became interested in pinching his parents food. Charlie has never done that before and so missed out completely on that eating milestone. I remember when he was small telling the professionals “he doesn’t steal food from my plate” I wonder if they understood that this is something kids are supposed to do?

Charlie has made great progress this month trying out different types of breads. Last week my lovely friend bought him a new type of mini gingerbread man which he asked if he could try this morning, he enjoyed the packet he had and has taken another 2 packets to school with him.

Last week his teacher told me that he had taken the class to the park to feed the ducks, he gave all the kids 50:50 bread to use, but instead of feeding the ducks all the kids including Charlie ate the bread and the poor ducks went without.

So onwards and upwards…Let hope he keeps going with his new found interest in other people’s food.

One thought on “Finally, I have a food thief

Leave a Reply

